Accurate as of November 18th, 2014. The laws continue to shift significantly. We update to the best of our ability but recommend double-checking the information you obtain here.
|State residency requirement||ID requirement||Waiting period||License valid for||Fee||Additional information|
|AK||No||There is a three (3) business day waiting period that begins once a mailed or faxed application is received by the issuing office. This means that you must wait at least three full business days after the application is submitted before you can pick up the license and the marriage ceremony can be performed.||3 months from the date of issue.||$60. This fee does not include the cost of a certified copy of the marriage certificate that is issued after the marriage is solemnized.||Marriage license information|
|AZ||No||Drivers license or identification card or other
id showing current address and date of birth. Bringing a certified copy of your birth certificate is recommended because some counties require it if you are younger than 30.
|No||License is valid for 1 year. The license can only be used within the State of Arizona.||$76.00; cash or money order.||Marriage license information|
|CA||No||Both parties must appear together—in person—and bring valid photo ID to the office of the Registrar-Recorder/County Clerk of any California county. Valid photo ID is one that contains a photograph, date of birth, and an issue and expiration date (such as a state issued identification card, driver’s license, passport, military ID, etc.). Some counties may also require a copy of your birth certificate.||None||90 days||$35 – $100, varies by county; some counties will only accept cash||Marriage license information|
|CO||Neither one of you have to be a resident of Colorado.||In Colorado, you will need to bring government issued ID such as your drivers license, visa, passport, state or military ID. Bring your social security cards, too.||None||License is valid in Colorado for 30 days.||Marriage license is $30. Cash only. No credit cards or checks accepted.||Marriage license information|
|CT||No (but if non-resident, marriage must be celebrated in town where license was issued)||
Both parties must bring the following documents to the Town Clerk’s office for proof of age:
1. Driver’s License OR Passport
2. Social Security Card
Some towns require additional proof of age and may require the following, at your discretion:
2. Certified Birth Record
|None||65 days||$30; most counties only accept cash||How to get married|
|DC||No||Both parties must bring the following documents to the Town Clerk’s office for proof of age:
1. Driver’s License
3. Birth Certificate
4. Non-Driver ID
5. Similar Official Document
|3 business days||Once issued, license does not expire||$45; all fees must be paid in cash||Marriage and Domestic Partnership Information|
|DE||No||Must show valid ID:
1. Driver’s License
2. Military ID
3. Government Consular ID
4. Certified Birth Certificate
5. US Visa ID Card
6. Similar State ID
|24 hours||30 days||$50 if either partner is a DE resident; cash only.
$100 if neither is a DE resident; cash only.
|Kent County Clerk
New Castle County Clerk
Sussex County Clerk
|HI||No||Both parties must appear together, in person, with a valid driver’s license or state issued photo ID.||None||30 days||$$65||Marriage license|
|IA||No (but 12-month residency requirement to bring a court proceeding to end a marriage)||Government-issued photo ID or passport. No specific forms noted.||3 days||6 months||$35||Iowa marriage FAQ|
|ID||No, however, with an Idaho State license, you must get married in Idaho. Idaho Code 32-412A requires both parties to read and sign a premarital AIDS educational pamphlet. Both parties must appear in person at the time of applying.||Valid Driver’s License and Birth Certificate.||No waiting period.||There is no expiration on the license. It is good forever, as long as the same two parties listed use it. The license can only be used within the State of Idaho.||$30, cash only.||Iowa marriage FAQ|
|IL||Non-residents cannot obtain a marriage license if their marriage would be void in their state of residence.||Must provide:
1. A valid US driver’s license
2. Valid state ID
3. Valid US passport
4. Military ID card
5. A valid Illinois Department of Public Aid card
If you do not have any of the above forms of identification, then you must present TWO of the following pieces of ID:
1. A certified copy of a birth certificate
2. A valid US resident alien card
3. US naturalization papers
4. A valid foreign passport
5. All consulate ID cards. Affidavits are not acceptable.
6. A baptismal record (the date of birth must appear)
7. A second piece of ID showing date of birth.
|1 day||60 days||$25||Marriage licenses|
|KS||No||A certified birth certificate and the following ifnormation:
Applicant must be the bride or groom. Both applicants need not be present. Applicant must swear under oath:
|3 days||6 months||$85.50 for a Kansas marriage license. Cash is required in most counties. Money orders are accepted in some counties and should be payable to “Clerk of the District Court”. The money is non-refundable.||Marriage in ME|
|MA||No||Acceptable Forms vary by town & include:
1. Original/Certified Birth Certificate
2. Original/Certified Baptismal Certificate
4. Life Insurance Policy
5. Employment Certificate
6. School Record
7. Immigration Record
8. Naturalization Record
9. Court Record
|3 days||60 days||Usually $50, but varies by town.||How to get married in MA|
|ME||No, but Maine residents must apply in county of residence.||Applicants must present a picture ID such as a driver’s license along with a certified copy of both birth certificates.
Both partners are required to provide social security numbers.
|None||90 days||$30||Marriage in ME|
|MD||No, but you must get married in the county where you obtained license.||Both parties are required to bring photo IDs, such as a driver’s license and show know their social security numbers.||2 days||6 months||$35 – $85; all fees must be paid in cash||Marriage in MD|
|MN||No||Present a valid form of photo ID. No specific forms noted.||5 days||6 months||$40 for couples who have completed 12 hours of premarital education; $115 without.||Marriage in MN|
|NC||No||North Carolina law requires all applicants to show proof of a Social Security number, or documentary proof of their Social Security number, i.e. W-2 form, payroll stub, or a statement from the Social Security Office stating their Social Security number.
If a Social Security number has never been issued or the applicant is not eligible for a Social Security number, the applicant will be required to present a completed affidavit, signed and notarized, at the time of applying for the marriage license. The affidavit form is available in the Register of Deeds Office.
Both parties to a marriage should appear in person to obtain the license. If one of the parties is unable to appear, the other party to the marriage must appear in person and present a sworn and notarized affidavit from the other member of the party, prior to the issuance of the license. Affidavit forms are available in the Register of Deeds Office.
|None||60 days||$60; cash only.||How to get married in NH|
||None||90 days||Varies from city to town, between $45 and $60 to get Each city/town sets its own fee for a marriage license.||How to get married in NH|
|NJ||If neither applicant is a New Jersey resident, submit the application in the municipality where the marriage ceremony will be performed, the license is only valid in the issuing municipality.||
1. Proof of identity by presenting your driver’s license, passport or state/federal I.D.
2. Proof of your residency.
3. Your social security card or social security number.
|72 hours||30 days||$28||Marriage in NJ|
|NM||No||If over 24, driver’s license and Social Security card.
If under 24, birth certificate or passport as well.
|None||None||$$25-40; cash only.||Marriage licenses|
|NY||No||One of the following:
||24 hours||60 days||$35 credit card or money order||New York City Clerk|
|NV||No||Valid picture identification. Acceptable identification includes valid Driver’s License, valid Identification Card from DMV, valid Passport, Resident Alien card, Military ID, or Certified or original Birth Certificate.
If a foreign birth certificate, it must be translated into English and notarized. You need to know your social security number, too!
|No||The license is valid for 1 year from the date it is issued. It may be used anywhere within the State of Nevada.||$35.00 – $65.00; varies by county, cash only. Some counties may accept a local check.|
|OK||No||Proof of age is required: driver’s license, birth certificate, passport, etc.||No waiting period required except for those under the age of 18. If under the age of 18, there is a 72-hour waiting period.||10 days||$50.00 license fee or $5.00 if premarital counseling completed. The reduced fee shall apply upon presentation to the Court Clerk of an original certificate of successful completion of a premarital counseling program. The certificate must be an original document, not a copy, and shall state that the named persons have successfully completed the premarital counseling requirements. No copies, faxes or emailed counseling certificates.||
|OR||No||Drivers License or certified birth certificate or passport and his or her Social Security number.||72 hours||60 days||Between $50 – $60. Cash is required in most counties.||
|PA||No||Current, valid photo I.D. in the form of either a driver’s license; non-driver’s license; international driver’s license; passport; military I.D.; resident alien card or consulate card and a Social Security card or any other form of I.D. issued by an official entity which reflects the applicant’s Social Security number (i.e. Social Security printout; pay stub; W-2 form; income tax return; prescription card; access card, etc.).||72 hours||60 days||$80||
|RI||If neither applicant lives in Rhode Island, the marriage license must be obtained at the city or town clerk’s office where the ceremony will take place. Rhode Island law states that the marriage license is valid only in the city or town in which it was issued. If the ceremony is performed in a city or town other than where it was issued, the validity of the marriage may be in question.||Most cities and towns require certified copies of your birth certificates and a valid government issued picture ID. Please be sure to contact the city or town clerk where you will apply for the marriage license to verify their requirements and hours of operation.||None||3 months||$24||How to get an RI marriage license|
|VA||No||Valid driver’s license, military ID, state ID, passport||None||The marriage must be performed within sixty (60) days after the license is issued. There is no waiting period required between application and issuance of the license and a couple may be married immediately after the issuance of a license.||$50|
|VT||If neither party is a Vermont resident, you may get the license from any town clerk in the state.||Besides basic information about
yourselves (names, towns of residence, places and dates of birth), you must also provide your parents’ names,
including your mothers’ birth (maiden) names, and their places of birth. (Certified copies of your birth certificates
can supply most of this information).
|None||60 days||$45||How to get married in VT|
|WA||No||Current photo ID as proof of your age.||3 days||60 days||Varies from county to county. Some counties charge approximately $35 while others charge $64 and up. Many counties will not accept checks or credit cards.||Marriage license|
|WI||At least one of the marrying couple must reside in the county where the application is made for at least 30 days. If both reside out-of-state, the application is made in the county where the ceremony will take place.||You must bring your Social Security Card, show proof of residence (WI Driver’s License or WI State ID), show a certified copy of your birth certificate. You must know your parents full names, including mother’s maiden name and the correct spelling of their names. Make sure you have the date and place of your marriage ceremony and the name, address and phone number of the officiant.||There is a 6-day waiting period from the date the application is signed until the license becomes effective. A waiver of the 6-day waiting period may be obtained at the discretion of the County Clerk. The cost of the waiver is $25.00.||License is valid for 30 days. The license can only be used within the State of Wisconsin.||Although the fees for a marriage license in Wisconsin vary from county to county, the average cost is between $60 – $135. Be prepared to pay in cash. Check with the County Clerk in your county to know what the fee will be.|
|WV||You do not have to be a resident of West Virginia. However, if you are a West Virginia resident, you must apply in the county where you live.||You will need to present photo identification such as your driver’s license, state ID, or passport. You will also need to know your parents’ full names, including your mothers’ maiden names, and the states where they were born.||No||60 days||$56. Fee may vary from county to county. Cash only.||Marriage license|
|WY||No||Valid driver license and a certified copy of your birth certificate.
Both applicants must appear in person at the time of applying. You can obtain a
The parties must know the following information:
You must bring a witness who knows the two of you at the time you apply.
|No||License is valid for one year from the date of issue. The license can only be used within the State of Wyoming.||$25. Be prepared to pay in cash.||Marriage license|
|UT||No||Driver’s license, birth certificate, or passport. You will also need to provide your Social Security numbers and the names, birthplaces, and maiden names of your parents.||None||30 days||$45 – $50; cash only in some counties.||Marriage license|